The Lobster

The strange stigma of being single in today’s society is ramped up to a whole new level in this film. Not only is it stigmatized, it is actually illegal. Marriage certificates on your person are required along with partners in this futuristic society strictly revolving around companionship. If you are found without one or both, you are then sent to a hotel for 45 days to find a mate or else be turned into an animal of your choosing. And for a movie based on romantic journeys, it is quite void of emotion. Obviously on purpose, but it no doubt makes it difficult to watch.

I think I laughed no more than a handful of times throughout The Lobster. And they were hardly chuckles. Most jokes didn’t land or were quite dark. I was searching for some parallel to today’s societal weight given to finding a relationship but if it was there, it was shrouded in a shrill soundtrack, dark humor, and an ambiguous plot and purpose.

I almost turned it off half way through but decided to give it a chance to turn around in the second half hoping for a good ending that did not come. (Plus part of my job is pushing through the bad movies so you don’t have to.) I advise you to use my experience and not waste your time with this one.

GMBM Verdict  :  Bad Movie. Just bad..

 

Starring: Colin Farrell, Léa Seydoux, John C. Reilly, Rachel Weisz

Rating   R     Released   2016
One thought on “

  1. Aww I’m sorry you didn’t like it! I would love to talk to you about this one some time. I thought the ambiguity of the film was really beautiful. It was very interesting to watch. And I thought it’d raise some good questions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

