C.O.G.

The age old story of going off the grid and finding yourself. That’s what Samuel is attempting to do here in C.O.G. Recently graduated from Yale, excellently educated and wary of religion, he and his friend decide to pack everything up and find out how the “real people” live and work. This lands him in Oregon after quite an interesting bus trip. Buses are always full of a variety of interesting folks if you’re ever looking for writing material.

This movie has been on my To-Watch list for a while ever since I saw the preview during a binge session of watching movie trailers on Youtube. You know how those go… Anyway, I have wanted to see it for a while so I was excited to check it out. Unfortunately that excitement didn’t last too long. It was a slow moving, pivoting film that I couldn’t quite get into. I haven’t read the essay it was based off by David Sedaris, but the film just didn’t do it for me.

It wasn’t a waste of time, like Lobster, however not the best use of my time. If you’re looking for a slowly progressing “self discovery” movie about a kid in Oregon’s apple country that feels more like a book, then I think I’ve found your film. But as for the rest of us, you won’t miss out on much if you pass on C.O.G.

GMBM Verdict  :  Maybe the book is better? Bad Movie. 

 

Starring: Jonathan GroffDenis O'HareCorey Stoll

Rating   R     Released  2013
One thought on “

Leave a Reply

